Fiore confirmed at Lucas Dumbrell Motorsport


Lucas Dumbrell Motorsport has confirmed the signing of Dean Fiore to drive its #88 Holden VF Commodore for the 2013 V8 Supercars season.


Fiore, who set the fourth quickest time at the pre-season test day on debut with the team, will drive the #88 Lucas Dumbrell Motorsport VF Commodore, partnering rookie Scott Pye in the expanded two-car team that has sourced its cars from championship-winning Triple Eight Race Engineering.


Fiore is leasing his Racing Entitlement Contract (#12) to Dick Johnson Racing, where Tim Blanchard will drive the entry, deciding against driving and funding his own entry to seek a drive elsewhere.


"I am really excited to be part of Lucas Dumbrell Motorsport and happy to be here and ready for my fifth full-time season in V8 Supercars," Fiore said.


"Lucas has a solid vision for the direction of the team and has established a close link with Triple Eight Race Engineering.


"Scott [Pye] is a part of the Triple Eight family, so the ties are strong.


"My initial experiences of the car during Saturday's test were extremely positive, so I'm very encouraged about the season ahead."


Lucas Dumbrell Motorsport will strengthen its ties with Triple Eight by running the former's famed #88 and with its former data engineer David Cauchi moving to engineer Fiore's VF Commodore.


"The opportunity to work with 'Cauchi' is also exciting; he spent eight years at Triple Eight and he's worked closely with both Craig [Lowndes] and Jamie [Whincup]. He's got Triple Eight's winning tradition installed in him, so he's going to be an invaluable asset to our team," Fiore said.


Lucas Dumbrell Motorsport will announce its title sponsor in the coming days as it gears up for its fourth season and first with multiple entries.


"Dean is a high-calibre driver who has proven his versatility in a variety of race cars, not just V8 Supercars," Dumbrell said.


"His experience will enable him to make a smooth transition to the Car of the Future chassis, while I believe LDM is providing him with the opportunity he deserves – leading equipment and an enthusiastic team on the rise."


Event Date
Mount Panorama 500 Feb 26-28
Sandown SuperSprint Mar 18-21
Tasmania SuperSprint April 10-11
OTR The Bend SuperSprint May 8-9
Darwin Triple Crown June 19-20
NTI Townsville 500 July 9-11
WD-40 Townsville SuperSprint July 17-18
Sydney Motorsport Park  Oct 29-31
Sydney Motorsport Park  Nov 6-7
Sydney Motorsport Park  Nov 13-14
Sydney Motorsport Park  Nov 19-21
Repco Bathurst 1000  Nov 30-Dec 5



1. Shane van Gisbergen
2. Jamie Whincup
1650 -276
3. Cameron Waters
1514 -412
4. Chaz Mostert
1506 -420
5. Will Davison
1505 -421
6. Anton De Pasquale
1246 -680
7. Mark Winterbottom
1138 -788
8. Nick Percat
1128 -798
9. James Courtney
1074 -852
10. Will Brown
1001 -925

Full championship standings